Spain, Norway, Ireland announce plan to recognize Palestinian state

Spain, Norway and Ireland have announced plans to formally recognize a Palestinian state, CNN reports.

According to the report, Irish Foreign Minister Micheál Martin said the recognition will come into force in all three countries on May 28.

This was announced on Wednesday by the Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris in a news conference in Dublin.

The report said the move is likely to bolster the global Palestinian cause but will certainly strain relations with Israel.

According to the Palestine Liberation Organization, Palestinian statehood has been recognized by more than 130 out of 193 member states of the United Nations.

“Today, Ireland, Norway and Spain are announcing that we recognize the state of Palestine. Each of us will now undertake whatever national steps are necessary to give effect to that decision,” Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris told a news conference in Dublin.

On his part, Norway’s Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre said the war in Gaza has “made it clear that achieving peace and stability must be predicted on resolving the Palestinian question.”

“In the midst of a war, with tens of thousands killed and injured, we must keep alive the only alternative that offers a political solution for Israelis and Palestinians alike: Two states, living side by side, in peace and security,” Støre said.

Spain’s Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez said: “We will recognize the state of Palestine for peace, coherence and justice.

“This recognition is not against the people of Israel and certainly not against the Jews,” he said. “It’s not in favor of Hamas. It’s in favor of co-existence.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *