Kingmakers to announce Olakulehin as new Olubadan on Thursday

Kingmakers in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital, have fixed Thursday, April 11, as the date for the official ratification and announcement of the current Balogun of Ibadanland, Owolabi Akinloye Olakulehin, as the new Olubadan of Ibadanland.

The kingmakers made this decision at a meeting held on Monday at the Iwo Road residence of a former President of Central Council of Ibadan Indigenes, CCII, Chief Bode Amao.

The kingmakers in Ibadan are the 11 High Chiefs who are also members of Olubadan-in-Council.

They are; Balogun of Ibadanland, Owolabi Akinloye Olakulehin; Otun Olubadan of Ibadanland, Rasidi Adewolu Ladoja; Osi Olubadan, Eddy Oyewole Foko; Ashipa Olubadan, Abiodun Kola-Daisi; Ekerin Olubadan, Hamidu Ajibade; Ekarun Olubadan, Adebayo Akande; Otun Balogun, Tajudeen Ajibola; Osi Balogun, Lateef Adebimpe; Ashipa Balogun, Kola Adegbola; Ekerin Balogun, Dada Isioye; and Ekarun Balogun, Abiodun Azeez.

A source close to the meeting told DAILY POST on Tuesday that the new Olubadan would be announced at Mapo Hall on Thursday as agreed by the kingmakers at the meeting.

The source noted that two of the High Chiefs; Ajibola and Ajibade, who are still feuding will not be present at Thursday’s meeting.

The source added that Ajibola, who was meant to nominate Olakulehin as the new Olubadan, would be replaced by Adebimpe, who is next to him in the Balogun line.

It maintained that Adebimpe, who will be present at the meeting on Thursday, will nominate Olakulehin and his name would be ratified and announced as planned.

“The appearance of the Olubadan-designate has doused the tension. It has overtaken any other issues. All the people who are contending it have gone to sleep. On Thursday, they will present the new Olubadan at Mapo hall. They will hold a meeting there.

“Out of eleven kingmakers, two of them will not be present. They are still angry. They are Tajudeen Ajibola and Amidu Ajibade. Ajibade is from Agbede Adodo in Opopo Yeosa while Ajibola is from Agbeni. Ajibade is from N1.

“That is the breaking. Baba Eddy Oyewole-Foko is the one coordinating the meeting. The Balogun side will nominate Olakulehin. Since Ajibola will not be around, so the next person to him which is Adebimpe will nominate Olakulehin. Adebimpe will be at the meeting. The two people that decided not to come to the meeting are Ajibola and Ajibade. The two of them can’t stop the pronouncement.

“After the pronouncement, they are going straight to the governor for presentation. So, that is what I said I should tell you.

“Members of Olakulehin family have gone to Ladoja’s house to perform the traditional rites of knocking the door on Sunday. If they say they knocked the door, that is what they meant. That is the tradition. They have gone to knocked the door of Ladoja,” the source said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *